Home > Fitness > Stalled on Overhead Press

Stalled on Overhead Press

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Squat: 290 lbs: 5/5/5
Press: 137.5 lbs: 4/4/3
Deadlift: 295 lbs: 1 set of 5.

This morning I stalled on Overhead press for the first time. The weight started feeling really heavy a few workouts back, and my form wasn’t quite on today. When I looked at the video of my third set, it looked like I was pressing the bar about two inches in front of my face, which disadvantages me, leverage-wise. I think I’ll try the same weight again next time, and try to keep going with it.

Squats are still going up, but every set is a struggle. I know I can get squats up to 300 lbs; I’m hoping to pass 315 before I stall. Hell, I’m willing to be surprised by getting to 375 pounds if I can keep going with it. I’ll just take it one squat at a time, and see what happens.

Current numbers for last fully successful set in the progression:

Squat: 290 lbs
Overhead Press: 135 lbs
Bench Press 175 lbs
Deadlift: 295 lbs
Clean and Jerk: 190 lbs
Snatch: 130 lbs

Press and Deadlift are both still 5 and 10 lbs behind my PRs, respectively. My Squat passed my PR by about 55 lbs ago.

I’m thinking of switching up my routine a bit, moving to four days a week, and devoting two of those days to the oly lifts, and the other two to the slow lifts, as recommended by Tamara Cohen.

I’m also thinking of switching out bench press for weighted ring dips. Why? Partly so I can do my workouts even when I don’t have a spotter. Partly because I’m an anti-bench press bigot, I guess.

I’m a little disappointed with how slowly deadlifts are going up. I’m actually thinking of doing them more frequently. I’ve been cautioned about recovery, but so far that hasn’t been an issue. I can always scale back later if it starts fatiguing me too much.

So overall, it would look something like:

Monday

Snatch
Clean and Jerk
Front Squat

Wednesday

Squat
Press
Deadlift

Thursday

Snatch
Clean and Jerk

Saturday

Squat
Ring dips (3x max reps, add weight when I get to 3×10 or 3×12)
Deadlift

Thoughts?

Categories: Fitness
  1. 2011/08/24 at 10:05 pm

    Dips, fine, but make it parallel bars. Rings are tough on shoulders.

  2. 2011/08/25 at 5:44 am

    Cliff, I’m really proud of your progress. This doesn’t happen without consistency and commitment.
    Regarding deadlifts, please consider incorporating Romanian deadlifts (RDLs) into your routine before you add additional deadlifts. They’re very effective at helping deadlifts without leaving you devastated for a week afterwards. A good resource for this is 70’s big.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

